LN106 diff questions

Danger
Driver/Navigator

LN106 diff questions

Postby Danger » Sat Mar 29, 2014 9:02 pm

Hey guys, just typed a bit of a novel and seems it didn't post so apologys if this turns up twice.

I'm still pretty new to 4wds so any advice is appreciated.

I have an LN106 and I'm starting from the ground up. It has an LSD in the rear and RUF, longer shackles etc etc but done very roughly.

I also have a diffhead out of a V6 Lux with a 4 pinion centre. Are these compatible with LN106 housings etc?

If so, which is stronger and the better option to fit a locker into?

With regards to a locker, would I be better off fitting it to the rear and putting the LSD up front or vice versa?

Thanks in advance

shortylux
Hard Yaka

Re: LN106 diff questions

Postby shortylux » Sat Mar 29, 2014 10:09 pm

V6 diff will bolt straight in.

The V6 third housings are considered to be stronger, but you don't really hear of people breaking diff housings anyway. If you were were it std then the v6 diff internals are stronger than your ln diff. How ever a locker changes every thing (strengthwise).

What kind of locker are you putting in? If it's selectable then I'd jam it in the front. If its auto then Probably jam it in the back and move the lsd to the front.

That's my 2c.

tuff lux
Hard Yaka

Postby tuff lux » Sun Mar 30, 2014 6:45 am

the v6 houseing are stronger and ment to support the crown wheel alot better

suzolla
Hard Yaka

Postby suzolla » Sun Mar 30, 2014 8:26 am

Plus the V6 pinion bearings are much bigger so support the pinion better
Cheers
Tim
www.4wdstuff.co.nz

Have got some v6 master diff rebuild kits if required

Danger
Driver/Navigator

Postby Danger » Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:50 am

Thanks guys, are the crowns/pinions interchangeable?

trucked
Hard Yaka

Postby trucked » Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:14 pm

Danger wrote:If so, which is stronger and the better option to fit a locker into?