1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

User avatar
Henry
Hard Yaka
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Christchurch

1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby Henry » Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:11 am

So my Lockup does not always stay locked up at 100 km on the open road.

I have purchased a Torque Converter lockup kit from Wholesale Auto in Australia.

I have a wiring diagram but the detail is in Japanese......

I need to find the Torque Converter Clutch lockup signal as it comes out of the ECU. I will confirm the right wire by looking for 12 volts Approx as the torque converter locks up-- usually around 85 or 90 kph.

I believe it is pin 9 of CG2. Which I take is one of the 3 plugs into the ECU.

Can Any one give me more info than that?

Thanks

User avatar
kbushnz
Hard Yaka
Posts: 2482
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Massey, Auckland

Re: 1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby kbushnz » Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:40 am

What vehicle? I have some pin outs for various ecu's....
You are looking for SL, here is the ECU pin out for the surf.
ECU.jpg
Cheers Calvin
KZJ78 Landcruiser Prado...

User avatar
Henry
Hard Yaka
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Christchurch

Re: 1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby Henry » Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:30 am

Kzj78 1994 .

User avatar
kbushnz
Hard Yaka
Posts: 2482
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Massey, Auckland

Re: 1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby kbushnz » Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:43 am

Cool then the above pinout is the same (for the trans) for the KZJ78 as thats what I used....
Cheers Calvin
KZJ78 Landcruiser Prado...

User avatar
Henry
Hard Yaka
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Christchurch

Re: 1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby Henry » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:24 am

Thanks for that Calvin

User avatar
kbushnz
Hard Yaka
Posts: 2482
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Massey, Auckland

Re: 1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby kbushnz » Sun Jul 15, 2018 4:23 pm

The fault you describe could be the ECU starting to play up. As the capacitors leak and cause all sorts of issues as they age. Either the Auto starts to play up or engine...Or both.
There are only a few triggers that turn off the Torque Lock...
Brakes applied, Temp too cold (sensor could be playing up) or heavy acceleration (TPS settings could be out)
Or the solenoid in the auto starting to break down...

I would recommend getting the ECU looked at by Anything Electronic before you mask the problem with a wiring kit...

Calvin
Cheers Calvin
KZJ78 Landcruiser Prado...

User avatar
Henry
Hard Yaka
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Christchurch

Re: 1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby Henry » Sun Jul 15, 2018 6:55 pm

I do understand what you are saying. I had the ECU at Anything about 4 years ago for cap replacemet etc.

The problem is the fault is very intermittent. It may also be as designed. Meaning it maybe turned off for anyone of the 5 or 6 things that turn it off.

I have also got the lock up so will install it. If it will still not stay locked up it will be off to the auto shop for the to look at the solonoid.

Any other thoughts?

User avatar
Henry
Hard Yaka
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 12:00 pm
Location: Christchurch

Re: 1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby Henry » Thu Dec 13, 2018 7:56 pm

Well I thought it was time for a update.

I have fitted the Torque Lock up. it works as advertised.

I use it when the Torque Converter will not stay locked up. this may take 30 mins to 2 hours to show up. I had show weekend away in and around Omarama and St Bathans with the 4x4 club . I did 800 km approx over the weekend. I used the lockup mostly on the open road at 80 to 100 kmph. I found the Auto temp dropped when it was turned on. Just don't forget to turn if off or you can stall the engine.

So the good news is the Torque Converter lock up in my Truck is OK.

The bad news is i now need to get my computer looked at.

Any other thoughts from anyone?

Henry

User avatar
kbushnz
Hard Yaka
Posts: 2482
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 9:03 am
Location: Massey, Auckland

Re: 1KZ torque Lock up Wiring.

Postby kbushnz » Fri Dec 14, 2018 7:18 am

The lockup uses various sensors to decide when to lock....
TPS, water temp, speed....
And looks for the brake pedal switch to unlock... so check that this isn't playing up and cancelling the ecu lock up.... Had a mate whos brakes would come on randomly without pushing pedal.... had a dodgy switch.
Sometimes the solenoid in the box plays up too.... and wont engage when it gets a signal....(only way to test this one is to put a meter or light on it and see if the ecu sends the trigger voltage and it doesn't lock)

Have fun....
Cheers Calvin
KZJ78 Landcruiser Prado...

Return to “Toyota”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests