service time

Moderator: Mark

tuckertrucker
Hard Yaka

service time

Postby tuckertrucker » Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:31 pm

Hey guys n gals

its time to do a service on my '92 Safari TD42. How do I replace the radiator fluid? I've never done it before and theres no better time to learn.

Also what grade oil should go in it? The atmospheric temperature in Kerikeri can range from 5 degrees in winter and 25 degrees in summer so needs to accomodate that. Also what ratio coolant should I put in it? 30%

Craydiver
Hard Yaka

Re: service time

Postby Craydiver » Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:11 pm

Go to this link, down load the service manual

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=34572&p=372529&hilit=Safari+service+manual#p372529

I run 50% coolant concentrate (im not talking premix)
oil - anything priced well, my firm belief is change the oil often, every 5000km or less rather than focus on buying the expensive stuff ($150 for 10l) and run longer the versus the $60 for 10l on special and change often
88SWB GQ TD Turbo, 35's, lockers

tuckertrucker
Hard Yaka

Postby tuckertrucker » Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:19 pm

yeah thanks for that. Frequent changes make sense to me too, so I'll find something priced right around the 10W-30 mark.

3VILC
Hard Yaka

Postby 3VILC » Thu Oct 29, 2015 9:36 pm

I tried valvolene diesel xtra in mine, never seems to hold a stable pressure, switched to that supercheap stuff and it was fine again (Calibre branded, whatever the diesel one in a 10L drum is). I usually just go for whatever is on a reasonable special in a 10L drum at the time.
Another handy hint once you have an empty 10 or 20L drum, if you cut the top of a 3L juice bottle into a funnel it fits perfectly into the cap of the drum, you can fit the whole thing under a safari and drain the sump straight into it :)
Filters on the other hand, I never worked out how you were meant to get those out without making a mess haha
-------------------------------------------------