Typical Noob Question

sniperdude

Typical Noob Question

Postby sniperdude » Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:13 pm

Hello Fellas,
I work as a pest controller and sometimes need to get into some quite gnarly places, plus being in a vantage point with the shelter of a 'car' goes a long way to producing successful results.My idea of a 4x4 based purely on aesthetics and size are the following

Hyundai Terracan(old boxy model)
Rav4
Suzuki Grand Vitara
My one caveat is that whichever car i end up with its going to get a quality winch put on the front of it(please indulge my ignorance)
Reasonably comfortable and reliable on our usual trips down the line with the family(four of us plus dog)

Now the reason for my leanings toward the above can be described by one word 'Nimble', i am aware of the comfort and power delivered by the stalwarts of the 4x4 world, like the landcruiser, Patrols and Pajeros etc
but i am looking for something light. quiet, and does not attract too much attention.

Can those amongst you who have real world experience on the subject over multiple models please educate me and point me in the right direction.

Thank you.

TJ
Hard Yaka

Re: Typical Noob Question

Postby TJ » Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:26 pm

A winch on a RAV4, sounds more like a Tui ad. Would be fun to watch somebody attempting doing it though.
'12 JK Rubicon V6 3.6L Auto D44/D44

wjw
Hard Yaka

Postby wjw » Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:35 pm

out of those, I would choose the suzuki, but how big is your dog? how much stuff would you need to take with you and the family?
-----------------------
Who knew Prados could fly?

kbushnz
Hard Yaka

Postby kbushnz » Mon Feb 29, 2016 6:37 pm

TJ wrote:A winch on a RAV4, sounds more like a Tui ad. Would be fun to watch somebody attempting doing it though.

Careful there ! I took the Rav around on our Xmas run and it did quite well.... Even drove some hills the big boys were having a few attempts at... :mrgreen: