damper vs a 'tether' on snatch straps

danielbeek
Hard Yaka

damper vs a 'tether' on snatch straps

Postby danielbeek » Fri Jun 08, 2018 12:25 am

Trying to understand why dampers seem to be commonly advertised and mentioned in recovery articles, but never see mention of simply having a tether tied to the vehicle and the end of the snatch strap (for each end)?
Wouldn't a tether with a couple meters slack stop any shackles etc buggering off with the snatch strap at high speed to the other vehicle's rear windscreen? I'd have thought some spectra line of a couple of tons WLL would be ample to halt a shackle and misc attached car hardware, once the strap has contracted and lost it's energy? Less distance the gear can fly the less chance of harm surely?

Clearly I'm a novice, so go easy on me!
1995 LBYD21, 31" ATs, 2" lift, 2.5" exhaust

wjw
Hard Yaka

Re: damper vs a 'tether' on snatch straps

Postby wjw » Fri Jun 08, 2018 12:31 pm

danielbeek wrote:Trying to understand why dampers seem to be commonly advertised and mentioned in recovery articles, but never see mention of simply having a tether tied to the vehicle and the end of the snatch strap (for each end)?
Wouldn't a tether with a couple meters slack stop any shackles etc buggering off with the snatch strap at high speed to the other vehicle's rear windscreen? I'd have thought some spectra line of a couple of tons WLL would be ample to halt a shackle and misc attached car hardware, once the strap has contracted and lost it's energy? Less distance the gear can fly the less chance of harm surely?

Clearly I'm a novice, so go easy on me!

Personally I avoid using shackles on snatch straps, sometimes there is not choice, but proper hooks at both ends is the best way.

I would say its far quicker to throw a damper over, than add tethers at both ends.
-----------------------
Who knew Prados could fly?

Smurf
Hard Yaka

Re: damper vs a 'tether' on snatch straps

Postby Smurf » Fri Jun 08, 2018 8:51 pm