Takapari Road condition - any recent info avail?

CLUMZ1
Hard Yaka

Takapari Road condition - any recent info avail?

Postby CLUMZ1 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:06 pm

Looking at doing a trip up Takapari in the next couple of months, has anyone been up past the A-frame hut recently? Cheers

cbfb
Hard Yaka

Re: Takapari Road condition - any recent info avail?

Postby cbfb » Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:15 pm

Went up there a few weeks back, no problems for anyone in our group. I would go again no worries it's not bad at all, gets worse past the A-Frame then runs out in a bog.

Keep eyes on rainfall. Also not sure you'd want to do it in real strong winds, it's pretty blowy up the top.

Try WRANGLR he organised our trip and will be able to give you more info (I'm not very experienced).

Worth a trip though are you based round here?

CLUMZ1
Hard Yaka

Postby CLUMZ1 » Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:18 pm

Cheers, me and a friend are looking at taking my mildly modded Safari (PTO muds lift etc) and his XJ Cherokee (lexus V8) up there for a nosey and overnighter. Thanks for the wind/rain tip too,

We're from Wellington and have never ventured too far north for tracks.

badnuz
Hard Yaka

Postby badnuz » Thu Aug 09, 2012 11:43 pm

you will be fine with your 4x4s, idealy take 2 at least just in case, if its terrible weather up the top then camping wont be too pleasent not much shelter apart from the hut itself lol! nice drive on a clear day, fun drive in the wet! if its not the weekend of 25th aug ( 4x4 show in Melborne) or following weeknd (1st sept- costa tuff truck) then im keen to tag along :)
i used to Cruise, now i PATROL

WRNGLR
Hard Yaka

Postby WRNGLR » Fri Aug 10, 2012 3:40 am