GQ project.

flyingbrick
Hard Yaka

GQ project.

Postby flyingbrick » Sat May 30, 2009 7:30 pm

Hi all. Thought I'd make a post to show what I've been doing and why I ask so many questions :-) Plus I like taking photos and having something to look back on in the future.

Basically right now I'm in parts acquisition mode :lol: trying to get as much crap together as I can. I'm just an apprentice machinist so do not have abundant amounts of money sitting there- but bargain hunting and trademe seem to be working great so far :lol:

I feel like its all kinda coming together into something I can start working on now- Its taken me 6 months of question asking, reading and pushing money around the country....

Anyways, this is the truck as purchased. It was covered in dog hair and filth inside and was just really really gross.

I liked the fact it was coil sprung/solid axle f/r, short wheelbase and it had way more power than the early hiluxes I test drove. As an added bonus EVERYONE I'd spoken with about the safaris and every article I read mentioned that they were about as unbreakable as factory jap vehicles get........and the intention was always to EVENTUALLY go a little larger in tire size.

Within about a month I'd pulled off and sold the roof rack, front nudge bar, side steps, bumpers and various other pieces for added project money and/or because they were dragging on shit and getting bent. The GF and I pulled the interior out and gave everything a hose/scrub with soap and I then used VHT vinyl die to spray the front floor carpets and boot carpet black.

The factory speakers were in a terrible state so they were removed and some sony items were installed in their place. The rears fit straight in where as up front I machined off the factory speakers mounting ring and used it as an adaptor.