Intercooler upgrades for Ford Courier

kiwiginga
Driver/Navigator

Intercooler upgrades for Ford Courier

Postby kiwiginga » Sun Sep 21, 2014 1:15 pm

Im a bit of a rookie for when it comes to intercoolers but is it worth changing the one i've got to a bigger one?
I find my ute a wee bit sluggish going up the hills even with the pump wound 1/8th of a turn.
Are they worth getting or is it just the looks?
My ute is a 2001 Ford Courier (2.5TD)
Cheers in advance

Crash bandicoot
Hard Yaka

Re: Intercooler upgrades for Ford Courier

Postby Crash bandicoot » Sun Sep 21, 2014 6:57 pm

an inter cooler wont really give massive performance gains as such but will allow the engine to remain cooler under load. and any performance gain in HP maybe counter intuitive if the piping has too many bends or restrictions.

So that Said you have three choices
Conventional Front mount that will provide good space for a resonable sized cooler and plenty of surface area to cool the charge.
parts for this a ready available off the shelf. possible grab the setup from a factory intercooled model perhaps?

Top mount, air to air provides less ducting work and design of the fins allow for less heat saturation but comes with it's own set of complications such as space between the engine and bonnet, air scoop panel work etc.

probably the best idea for the courier and if funds allow is to employ a water to air intercooler where a second radiator circulates water to the cooler mounted between the turbo and the intake manifold.
Waiter...there is a drought in my glass.

kiwiginga
Driver/Navigator

Postby kiwiginga » Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:55 pm

Crash bandicoot wrote: probably the best idea for the courier and if funds allow is to employ a water to air intercooler where a second radiator circulates water to the cooler mounted between the turbo and the intake manifold.